Can I be charge with DWI when I hit a police car? 2 Answers as of March 12, 2014

How long in NY can the D.A. wait to give you a DWI? I hit a cop car they gave me all the test. I was not drunk but they are asking doctor what drugs I was taking.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Richard Southard
Law Office of Richard Southard | Richard C Southard
Generally speaking, they have two years to prosecute you for misdemeanor charges and five years for any potential felony charges.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 3/12/2014
Rothstein Law PLLC
Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
The statute of limitations is 2 years. It is 5 years if you have a prior DWI conviction is the past 10 years.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 3/12/2014
Click to View More Answers: