Can either of us file in the state where we live if I don't have a copy of our marriage license? 7 Answers as of November 07, 2016

We were married in another state.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Carey and Leisure | John Smitten
Yes, you can file in your state so long as you have resided in that state for at least 6 months.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 11/7/2016
R. Jason de Groot, P.A
R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
Yes, you can file a divorce case without needing to provide the marriage license.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 11/2/2016
Mediation Services of Southwest Florida
Mediation Services of Southwest Florida | Dennis J. Leffert, J.D.
You won?t need a copy of your marriage license to get a divorce. Go ahead and file, as long as you are a ?legal resident? where you file. Good luck.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 11/2/2016
The Gufford Law Firm, P.A.
The Gufford Law Firm, P.A. | Joseph Gufford
This is a common question that many people have. First of all, many people are married in various places all around the world, whether it is the United States or some other place on the Planet Earth. So, the issue of where you were married is not important in most instances. The real question is do you meet the residency requirements of the state where you are currently living for the Court to have jurisdiction to dissolve your marriage. In Florida, either you or the other party must have been continuous and permanent residents of the State of Florida for the 6 months preceding the filing of the action. There is no need in most cases for a copy of your marriage certificate. There are other jurisdictional issues that might be present regarding child custody, child support, equitable distribution, alimony and other related items. I would suggest that you consult with a professional and experienced divorce lawyer to determine the best course of action for you.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 11/2/2016
Ronald L. Bornstein, P.A. | Ronald L. Bornstein
Generally, you have to file in the State having subject matter jurisdiction. Most States have a residency requirement to be able to file for divorce. In FL, it is six months. Consult with an attorney to discuss the specifics of your situation and your options.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 11/2/2016
    Law Office of Robert E McCall | Robert McCall
    You can file in any state for which you meet the Residency requirement to establish jurisdiction. For example, for Florida to have jurisdiction one party must live here for a minimum of 181 days. Florida does not consider what state, or country, you were married in.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 11/2/2016
    Home Town Law, P.A.
    Home Town Law, P.A. | Sabina Tomshinsky
    You can file for divorce in Florida as long as one party has been a resident of the State of Florida for at least six months prior to filing.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 11/2/2016
Click to View More Answers: