Am I going to face prison time after receiving my second DUI and leaving the state? 8 Answers as of August 07, 2015

Over the weekend, I was pulled over for my second DUI. I over drank because my fiancee left me for someone else over the weekend, and I was upset. Am I going to face jail time now?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Absolutely YES.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 8/7/2015
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
You need to hire a DUI specialist, and do it soon because you have only 10 days to save your license. Remember also a lawyer can appear in court without you present (if you will be out of state).
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/7/2015
The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
You are certainly facing the possibility of jail. You need to hire a DUI defense attorney.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 8/7/2015
Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
There is a significant probability that you will be facing some jail time as a result of a second DUI conviction. Leaving the state, especially if it was against you bond restrictions will compound the problem.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 8/6/2015
Law Office of Robert E McCall | Robert McCall
Sentence is up to the Judge. Ten days is minimum.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 8/6/2015
    Law Office of Darin Kanfer | Darin J. Kanfer
    It is possible. It would depend on the judgment, probation department and your actions.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/6/2015
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    No. A second DUI has a mandatory minimum of 2 days in jail. Most other punishment can be converted to community labor.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/6/2015
    Richard B. Jacobson & Associates, LLC | Richard B. Jacobson
    A conviction for second offence DUI (=OWI) in Wisconsin carries a mandatory minimum of 5 days in jail. Depending on other factors, including the degree of intoxication and how seriously bad the driving was, the actual time imposed may extend up to 6 months (but is rarely that long). Attending some kind of counseling for substance abuse can lead to a shorter sentence. Get a capable lawyer: it's almost always worth the money.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/6/2015
Click to View More Answers:

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!