Am I going jail next for first time shoplifting? 10 Answers as of February 18, 2014

I never been to court, so I don’t know what's going to happen. I'm 7 months pregnant and I have a clean background, never got into trouble with the law.


Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
Jail is always a possibility. Depending on the amount allegedly stolen and the jurisdiction where the event occurred, shoplifting can be met with a mere citation (infraction), or charged as a misdemeanor or even a felony, with possible jail sentences of 6 months to 3 years. It will be up to the D.A. to determine how the crime will be charged. I suggest that you hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent you and get you the best deal possible.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/18/2014
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
Instead of worrying about the jail time, you need to focus your attention on how you can avoid being convicted. Shoplifting is a crime of moral turpitude, and if convicted you can kiss your career aspirations goodbye. Hire a lawyer before you get duped into a plea you will regret for life.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/17/2014
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
Generally, for a first time offense, the judge does not order jail time.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 2/17/2014
Gates' Law, PLLC | Thomas E. Gates
You will not go to jail. In Washington, you committed a gross misdemeanor with a sentence range of 364 days in jail and $5,000 fine. As a first offense, you will likely be sentenced to take a consumer awareness class, do community service, pay a fine, stay away from the store, have no further law violations, and be on probation for one year. You will also need to pay a civil fine to the store. If there is a diversion program take it.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 2/17/2014
The Rogers Law Firm
The Rogers Law Firm | Andrea Storey Rogers
Maximum penalty in Missouri for misdemeanor shoplifting is 1 year in jail and a fine of $1,000. You need to hire an attorney to represent you if you want to avoid jail and get the charge dismissed or amended to a lesser offense, such as "Littering."
Answer Applies to: Missouri
Replied: 2/17/2014
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    Normally we get clients into diversion so the end up with no criminal conviction on their record.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 2/17/2014
    Law Office of James E. Smith
    Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
    No. Diversion or probation.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 2/17/2014
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    While a theft charge always carries a potential jail sanction, the likelihood of you receiving a jail sentence for a first offense is slim. It is more likely that you would receive probation. Should you screw up on probation you could be looking at a jail sentence.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 2/17/2014
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    In MN you mostly would not go to jail. You should get an attorney or apply for a public defender. This type of case, if convicted, can cause issues with employment, rental, etc.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 2/17/2014
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Here is what you should do. First plead NOT guilty. (This is because you lose all your bargaining power by pleading guilty right away.) Second get a lawyer. That person may be able to work out a deal where you end up with no conviction on your record your theft. This is important since such a record is FOREVER and PUBLIC. What employer wants to hire a thief? This consequence is more severe than jail.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 2/17/2014
Click to View More Answers: